Meet the Team

Professional Staff


Dr. Randell E. Trammell

Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Dr. Trammell has long been involved youth development.  He holds an undergraduate degree in Religious Education as well as a Master in Business Administration from Reinhardt University.  In 2014, he completed his Doctorate in Education with an emphasis in organizational leadership and communication. That same year, after seeing a dire need for resources and support in the area of civics education in Georgia, he developed the concept of the Georgia Center for Civic Engagement.  In 2017, Dr. Trammell officially launched the Center as a 501c3 nonprofit becoming our founder and President & Chief Executive Officer.

Dr. Trammell is a visionary and passionate leader who is nationally recognized in youth civic education and development.  He is also active as a volunteer with many organizations.

Email Randell at

Read his blog, Generation Civics.


Jeremy Austin

Director of State Programs

Jeremy has been involved with the organizations program offerings as either a student participant, collegiate volunteer, or professional staff member since 1996. During his senior year of college, Jeremy interned for this organization; specifically running our Model United Nations Program.  He has held numerous positions on our staff since his hire in 2007. He now serves as the Director of State Programs.  He has specifically played a key leadership role in program development and implementation.  In this area, our programs have seen incredible growth over the last 10+ years.  Working closely with CEO Trammell, they continue creating innovative & cutting edge youth development programs.

Jeremy works closely with educational partners across that state as we implement new and engaging programs.  Jeremy joined the staff in 2007.

Email Jeremy at


Brooke Hamil

Coordinator of Marketing & Programs

Brooke has been involved in the organization’s programs since high school where she attended many conferences and served as a presiding officer. Subsequently, she volunteered as college alumni staff and served as Program Intern for Georgia United Nations Assembly. Brooke graduated from the University of Georgia in 2019 and worked in the hospitality industry and nonprofit development following graduation.
Brooke manages all of our organizational messaging and communications.  She also works closely on delivering our outstanding programs.  She joined staff in August 2020.
Email Brooke at

Dr. Angela Hargis

Director of Educational Services

Dr. Hargis joined us in December of 2019 after retiring from a distinguished career in education. She served most recently as the principal of Westside Middle School (Whitfield County Schools) since 2013 until her retirement in December of 2019.

Email Dr. Hargis at


Davina Alvarez

Coordinator of Administrative Services

Davina comes to us, most recently from the great state of California. She recently made the move to Georgia, along with her husband and son. She brings great expertise to our organization with her background in all operations of hotel management! She joined our staff in September of 2019.

Email Davina at

Board of Directors

joe barnettHS

Joe Barnett

Whitfield County Schools


Dr. Eddie Bennett

Georgia Council for the Social Studies


Rebecca Bernson

Community Volunteer


Justice Charlie Bethel

Georgia Supreme Court


Claire O. Bowen

Claire Bowen & Co.



Georgia Electric Membership Cooperative


Liza Chapman

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board


Lauren Fralick

Georgia Link


Rep. Matthew Gambill

State Representative


Cody Hall

Office of the Governor


Comm. Daylon Martin

Commissioner, Jones County


Scott Maxwell

Mathews & Maxwell


Ms. Mary Caroline McCormack

Youth Governor
Student Board Member


Macy McFall

Lieutenant Governor's Office


Ray D. Moses

Genoa Construction


Irene Munn

The Munn Firm


Michele NeSmith

Assoc. of County Commissioners of Georgia

james nixon

James Nixon

Meadows Health


Caitlin O'Dea

Community Volunteer


Joe O'Kelley

O'Kelley & Sorohan, Attorneys at Law


Ms. Chloe Satterfield

Youth Governor
Student Board Member


Abigail Heys Thompson

Wellstar Health System


Ed Thomas



Dr. Randell E. Trammell

President and CEO
Georgia Center for Civic Engagement


Melissa Tymchuk

Northeast Georgia Health System


Brian Wallace

Georgia Municipal Association


Mayor vince Williams

Union City